Disclosure: We earn a commission on qualifying purchases made through links at no extra cost to you. We are also a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program.

Are Starbucks Bagels Vegan? Plain, Everything Bagels

Starbucks plain, everything, and cinnamon & raisin bagels are all vegan. The everything & cheddar bagel is not vegan. Check the ingredients of seasonal bagels for non-vegan ingredients.

Starbucks has become one of the more popular vegan destinations in the last few years, thanks to the variety of plant-based beverages they offer. 

Today, you can select from their hot, cold, or ice brews and opt for the vegan option for a cup of delicious plant-based coffee.

However, unlike their beverages, Starbucks hasn’t been as innovative with its food. Up until recently, the only plant-based items available were their famous Chickpea protein box and plant-based sandwich.

And we all know how much better coffee tastes when you’ve got a light snack to go with it.

And Starbucks fans swear by the crunchy texture of the bagels and how the bread dissolves in your mouth when you sip a coffee.

So perhaps Starbucks would consider turning their bagels plant-based so vegans can have one with their coffee?

Are Starbucks Bagels Vegan?

Starbucks provides four different types of bagels

  • Plain Bagel
  • Everything Bagel
  • Cinnamon & Raisin Bagel
  • Everything & Cheddar Bagel

And, our plant-based readers will be happy to know that the Starbucks plain, everything, and cinnamon & raisin bagels are entirely vegan.

That’s right, Starbucks probably realized soon enough that non-vegans wouldn’t mind having a vegan bagel, while the reverse isn’t possible. So why lose out on the vegan customers?

Additionally, Starbucks also recently added an avocado spread mixed with lime, salt, garlic, and spices, that you could add to your vegan bagels.

And if you’re not into avocado, you can always opt for the hazelnut or almond butter spread.

Now that you know which Starbucks bagels are vegan (or, instead, the one that isn’t), let’s look at the vegan bagels at Starbucks.

Starbucks Plain Bagel

This was the first bagel Starbucks introduced to their customers and perhaps the only accompaniment they initially had to their famous coffee. As the name suggests, the bagel is plain without added flavors.

What makes this so delectable is that the taste of the coffee isn’t overpowered or masked in any way.

Luckily for the plant-based population, Starbucks highlights the ingredients of each item on its menu. So if you’re being extra cautious about what you put in your body, you can always visit their menu section and verify yourself.

Here’s what goes into the plain bagels at Starbucks: Enriched wheat flour, water, rye flour, sugar, salt, yeast, vegetable oil (canola, soybean), and preservative (calcium propionate).

Starbucks also lists wheat as a possible allergen in all their food products as they use the same equipment to prepare and produce everything.

Starbucks Everything Bagel

The everything bagel at Starbucks was initially non-vegan because they would add cheese as a topping. And while they haven’t shifted to vegan cheese (yet), Starbucks has modified this item by removing the traditional cheese topping.

So now, the Starbucks everything bagel is entirely vegan! Here’s what goes into it: Unbleached Enriched Flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, sugar, sesame seeds, less than 2% of dehydrated onion, dehydrated garlic, salt, wheat gluten, yeast, toasted chopped onion, poppy seeds, distilled vinegar, guar gum, ascorbic acid, enzymes, monoglycerides.

Yes, that’s a long list of ingredients, but it’s called the everything bagel for a reason! Luckily, this bagel also packs in a few B vitamins and folic acid to help maintain your energy levels throughout the day. Pair it with a cup of vegan coffee, and you’ll be ready to go.

Starbucks Cinnamon & Raisin Bagel

This bagel is ideal for vegans with those midday sweet cravings. And while it may seem healthy because it’s vegan, keep in mind that there’s still plenty of sugar packed into this product.

The cinnamon and raisin bagel comes with the following ingredients: Unbleached Enriched Flour (wheat flour, malted barley flour, niacin, reduced iron, thiamine mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), water, raisins, sugar, less than 2% of wheat gluten, salt, yeast, cinnamon, vinegar, guar gum, sunflower oil, ascorbic acid, enzymes, monoglycerides.

The best part is you won’t even have to ask which bagels are vegan anymore. As long as you don’t ask for any additional toppings or spreads, three out of the four bagels offered at Starbucks are entirely vegan.

Final Thoughts

The best part about Starbucks having vegan bagels is enjoying your coffee breaks while munching on a light snack. And while Starbucks continues to evolve its menu to accommodate plant-based options, introducing vegan bagels is a great way to start.

Vegan Multi Vitamins at FutureKind.com
Vegan Multi Vitamins at FutureKind.com